Got­tfried SALZMANN, born in Saalfelden am Stein­er­nen Meer in 1943, stud­ied at the Acad­e­my of Fine Arts in Vien­na from 1963 to 1965 and at the Ècole nationale supérieure des beaux arts in Paris from 1965 to 1968. Since his first exhi­bi­tions in 1968/69 in Linz, Paris and Salzburg, there have been reg­u­lar exhi­bi­tions and par­tic­i­pa­tions in exhi­bi­tions in Euro­pean and Amer­i­can gal­leries and muse­ums. In 1970 Got­tfried Salz­mann began to work with pho­tog­ra­phy. In 1978, the first pho­to exhi­bi­tion of the artist’s works is held in Saint Ger­main-en-Laye. In 1983 Salz­mann trav­els to New York for the first time, exten­sive trav­el activ­i­ties follow.
Got­tfried Salz­mann has received numer­ous prizes and awards includ­ing the Prix de Dessin Pierre David-Weill, Insti­tut de France, Paris; the Theodor Körn­er Prize, Vien­na (1972); the Grand Prize of the Salzburg Cham­ber of Com­merce for Graph­ic Art (Draw­ing) (1975); the Inter­na­tion­al Prize for Water­col­or, Fon­dazione Sinaide Ghi, Rome (1977); the Slavi Soucek Prize, Salzburg (1996) and the Aus­tri­an Dec­o­ra­tion of Hon­or for Sci­ence and Art, Vien­na (2011). Works by the artist hang in pri­vate and pub­lic col­lec­tions in Aus­tria, France, Switzer­land, Liecht­en­stein, Korea, Chi­na, the Philip­pines and the USA. Got­tfried Salz­mann quick­ly estab­lished him­self in the art scene as an inter­na­tion­al­ly rec­og­nized water­col­orist. He has mas­tered water­col­or paint­ing like no oth­er. Through new views and per­spec­tives, he suc­ceeds in play­ing between rep­re­sen­ta­tion­al­ism and abstrac­tion and gives new impe­tus to water­col­or paint­ing. In his works he brings the poet­ry of cities and land­scapes to light, paints and trans­forms them. Where­as ear­li­er it was land­scapes, lat­er series from large cities fol­lowed. In his works he turns to dif­fer­ent tech­niques and seeks inter­ac­tions with draw­ing, engrav­ing, pho­tog­ra­phy, acrylic and oil paint­ing. In the inten­sive study of print­mak­ing, exper­i­ment­ing many times and devel­op­ing new tech­niques such as the photeauforte.
Got­tfried Salz­mann lives and works in Paris.
1969 – first exhi­bi­tion in the gallery Welz.

Exhi­bi­tion at Aren­berg Castle
August 16, 2023 until Jan­u­ary 26, 2024

Art Gallery

Got­tfried SALZMANN, born in Saalfelden am Stein­er­nen Meer in 1943, stud­ied at the Acad­e­my of Fine Arts in Vien­na from 1963 to 1965 and at the Ècole nationale supérieure des beaux arts in Paris from 1965 to 1968. Since his first exhi­bi­tions in 1968/69 in Linz, Paris and Salzburg, there have been reg­u­lar exhi­bi­tions and par­tic­i­pa­tions in exhi­bi­tions in Euro­pean and Amer­i­can gal­leries and muse­ums. In 1970 Got­tfried Salz­mann began to work with pho­tog­ra­phy. In 1978, the first pho­to exhi­bi­tion of the artist’s works is held in Saint Ger­main-en-Laye. In 1983 Salz­mann trav­els to New York for the first time, exten­sive trav­el activ­i­ties follow.
Got­tfried Salz­mann has received numer­ous prizes and awards includ­ing the Prix de Dessin Pierre David-Weill, Insti­tut de France, Paris; the Theodor Körn­er Prize, Vien­na (1972); the Grand Prize of the Salzburg Cham­ber of Com­merce for Graph­ic Art (Draw­ing) (1975); the Inter­na­tion­al Prize for Water­col­or, Fon­dazione Sinaide Ghi, Rome (1977); the Slavi Soucek Prize, Salzburg (1996) and the Aus­tri­an Dec­o­ra­tion of Hon­or for Sci­ence and Art, Vien­na (2011). Works by the artist hang in pri­vate and pub­lic col­lec­tions in Aus­tria, France, Switzer­land, Liecht­en­stein, Korea, Chi­na, the Philip­pines and the USA. Got­tfried Salz­mann quick­ly estab­lished him­self in the art scene as an inter­na­tion­al­ly rec­og­nized water­col­orist. He has mas­tered water­col­or paint­ing like no oth­er. Through new views and per­spec­tives, he suc­ceeds in play­ing between rep­re­sen­ta­tion­al­ism and abstrac­tion and gives new impe­tus to water­col­or paint­ing. In his works he brings the poet­ry of cities and land­scapes to light, paints and trans­forms them. Where­as ear­li­er it was land­scapes, lat­er series from large cities fol­lowed. In his works he turns to dif­fer­ent tech­niques and seeks inter­ac­tions with draw­ing, engrav­ing, pho­tog­ra­phy, acrylic and oil paint­ing. In the inten­sive study of print­mak­ing, exper­i­ment­ing many times and devel­op­ing new tech­niques such as the photeauforte.
Got­tfried Salz­mann lives and works in Paris.
1969 – first exhi­bi­tion in the gallery Welz.

Exhi­bi­tion at Aren­berg Castle
August 16, 2023 until Jan­u­ary 26, 2024

Art Gallery


← back to archive list

Gottfried SALZMANN, 1943 in Saalfelden am Steinernen Meer geboren, studierte von 1963 bis 1965 an der Akademie der bildenden Künste in Wien und von 1965 bis 1968 an der Ècole nationale supérieure des beaux arts in Paris. Seit seinen ersten Ausstellungen 1968/69 in Linz, Paris und Salzburg fanden regelmäßig Ausstellungen und Ausstellungsbeteiligungen in europäischen und amerikanischen Galerien und Museen statt. Ab 1970 beginnt Gottfried Salzmann sich mit der Fotografie zu beschäftigen. 1978 findet die erste Fotoausstellung mit Werken des Künstlers in Saint Germain-en-Laye statt. 1983 reist Salzmann zum ersten Mal nach New York, ausgedehnte Reiseaktivitäten folgen.
Gottfried Salzmann erhielt zahlreiche Preise und Auszeichnungen u. a. den Prix de Dessin Pierre David-Weill, Institut de France, Paris; den Theodor-Körner-Preis, Wien (1972); den Großen Preis der Salzburger Wirtschaftskammer für Graphik (Zeichnung) (1975); den Internationalen Preis für Aquarell, Fondazione Sinaide Ghi, Rom (1977); den Slavi-Soucek-Preis, Salzburg (1996) und das Österreichische Ehrenzeichen für Wissenschaft und Kunst, Wien (2011). Werke des Künstlers hängen in privaten und öffentlichen Sammlungen in Österreich, Frankreich, in der Schweiz, in Liechtenstein, Korea, China, auf den Philippinen und in den USA. Gottfried Salzmann hat sich rasch in der Kunstszene als international anerkannter Aquarellist etabliert. Er beherrscht die Aquarellmalerei wie kaum ein anderer. Durch neue Sichtweisen und Perspektiven gelingt ihm ein Spiel zwischen Gegenständlichkeit und Abstraktion und gibt der Aquarellmalerei neue Impulse. In seinen Werken bringt er die Poesie der Städte und Landschaften zum Vorschein, malt und verwandelt diese. Waren es früher Landschaften, so folgen später Serien aus Großstädten. In seinen Werken wendet er sich verschiedenen Techniken zu und sucht nach Interaktionen mit Zeichnung, Gravur, Fotografie, Acryl und Ölmalerei. In der intensiven Auseinandersetzung mit der Druckgrafik, wobei er vielfach experimentiert und neue Techniken wie das Photeauforte entwickelte.
Gottfried Salzmann lebt und arbeitet in Paris.
1969 – erste Ausstellung in der Galerie Welz.

Gottfried SALZMANN, 1943 in Saalfelden am Steinernen Meer geboren, studierte von 1963 bis 1965 an der Akademie der bildenden Künste in Wien und von 1965 bis 1968 an der Ècole nationale supérieure des beaux arts in Paris. Seit seinen ersten Ausstellungen 1968/69 in Linz, Paris und Salzburg fanden regelmäßig Ausstellungen und Ausstellungsbeteiligungen in europäischen und amerikanischen Galerien und Museen statt. Ab 1970 beginnt Gottfried Salzmann sich mit der Fotografie zu beschäftigen. 1978 findet die erste Fotoausstellung mit Werken des Künstlers in Saint Germain-en-Laye statt. 1983 reist Salzmann zum ersten Mal nach New York, ausgedehnte Reiseaktivitäten folgen.
Gottfried Salzmann erhielt zahlreiche Preise und Auszeichnungen u. a. den Prix de Dessin Pierre David-Weill, Institut de France, Paris; den Theodor-Körner-Preis, Wien (1972); den Großen Preis der Salzburger Wirtschaftskammer für Graphik (Zeichnung) (1975); den Internationalen Preis für Aquarell, Fondazione Sinaide Ghi, Rom (1977); den Slavi-Soucek-Preis, Salzburg (1996) und das Österreichische Ehrenzeichen für Wissenschaft und Kunst, Wien (2011). Werke des Künstlers hängen in privaten und öffentlichen Sammlungen in Österreich, Frankreich, in der Schweiz, in Liechtenstein, Korea, China, auf den Philippinen und in den USA. Gottfried Salzmann hat sich rasch in der Kunstszene als international anerkannter Aquarellist etabliert. Er beherrscht die Aquarellmalerei wie kaum ein anderer. Durch neue Sichtweisen und Perspektiven gelingt ihm ein Spiel zwischen Gegenständlichkeit und Abstraktion und gibt der Aquarellmalerei neue Impulse. In seinen Werken bringt er die Poesie der Städte und Landschaften zum Vorschein, malt und verwandelt diese. Waren es früher Landschaften, so folgen später Serien aus Großstädten. In seinen Werken wendet er sich verschiedenen Techniken zu und sucht nach Interaktionen mit Zeichnung, Gravur, Fotografie, Acryl und Ölmalerei. In der intensiven Auseinandersetzung mit der Druckgrafik, wobei er vielfach experimentiert und neue Techniken wie das Photeauforte entwickelte.
Gottfried Salzmann lebt und arbeitet in Paris.
1969 – erste Ausstellung in der Galerie Welz.


← zurück zur Archivliste